Monday, 28 January 2013

Early Review: She Returns From War

She Returns From War
Lee Collins

Publisher: Angry Robot – Release Date 7th February 2013

E-Arc Courtesy of Netgalley & Angry Robot

Four years after the horrific events in Leadville, a young woman from England, Victoria Dawes, sets into motion a series of events that will lead Cora and herself out into the New Mexico desert in pursuit of Anaba, a Navajo witch bent on taking revenge for the atrocities committed against her people.

She Returns From War is the second book featuring Cora Inglesbury, supernatural hunter in the 1800s – think a female Dean Winchester in the Wild West! However, rather than following the action from Cora’s point of view, the whole story is told from Victoria Dawes viewpoint. Victoria is a young woman who vows revenge on the supernatural creatures that caused her parents death and searches out Cora to help. However, Cora’s past has caught up her and Vicky gets stuck in the middle...

One of things I loved about this story is that it doesn’t feel like time has stood still for Cora. This is set a number of years after The Dead of Winter and some things have changed. Cora is still a hard woman, but fair. There is never any idea that she is some special warrior – just some-one who works hard, has some skills and some luck. Victoria is a little naive but determined. Both women feel natural – real rather than stereotype heroines. The action is exciting and well-paced. The story flowed together seamlessly and felt more coherent than the first book. I liked the hints of native American magic which adds to the world already established.

This really is a fresh air in the world of supernatural hunters – the ending (which I don’t want to spoil but is a real surprise!) really brings one story to an end and starts a new one showing that Lee Collins isn’t afraid to move things forward. This really highlights that he is an author to watch! Many others would have been content to keep the series going in a continual loop for a few more books but Lee takes risks and I am very much looking forward to see what he writes next!

Recommended for fans of Kate Griffin and Chris Holm. 9 out of 10


  1. CO? NM? Oh and then you throw in a female Dean Winchester? Okay, this looks like something I need to put on the wishlist ASAP!!

  2. Ooo, for fans of Chris Holm? It definitely goes onto my wishlist! :) Great review, Mel!

  3. Did you say a female Dean Winchester in the Wild West? 'Cause that's what my eyes THINK they saw. SOLD! I love the sound of this, adding to my tbr.
    Great review!